Backtracking

In the interest of completeness I’ll fill you in on what happened on July 6th when I was stuck.

Like I posted before, I had to get into 4 wheel drive to get any traction.  I don’t know how they look by you, but the zombies in my neck of the woods look very dry. Like kindling.  Don’t be foold, they’re quite wet on the inside still.  (and in the immortal words of Han Solo, “I thought they smelled bad on the outside…”)

I eventually got off of the farmland and back to the road, that made traction much easier.  There were more runners than I hoped for.  I was only doing about 25 mph, I didn’t want to risk missing a piece of debris that could puncture a tire.  I was outpacing them, but not losing them.  These bastards are nothing if they’re not persistant.

Route 62 was much worse than I thought it would be.  It seems that became one of the main evacuation routes at some point before everything collapsed.  I spent much of my time on the shoulder, I even had to push an old toyota out of my way.  I pulled up to hotel at about 4AM.  Resistance was light, but steady.

I drove around back and tied all my bags together and exited through the sunroof and made my way onto a canopy.  As I pulled up the bags a big fat zombie noticed me. He grabbed the duffel bag like a fish on a hook.  He almost yanked me off the roof.  I couldn’t believe its strength.  I put a bullet in his skull and hauled up the rest of the gear.

From there I made my way in through a second floor window and proceeded to have the most stressful week in my life.

More on that tomorrow.

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a comment